Phantom Fat!

As someone who has shed 100 pounds I have called myself determined, successful, lucky, grateful and healthier. But I never thought to call myself an amputee!

Apparently there is a term for that I’m still fat! feeling so many people have after losing significant amount of weight, even when the scale says otherwise and their number on the BMI chart hits the healthy mark.

Phantom Fat: That odd experience where you look in a mirror and still see yourself as you were before losing several clothing sizes.

Here is an interesting article on the NBC News website on phantom fat and what exactly is happening in your brain.

Phantom Fat

At March’s support group meeting I’ll be introducing some exercises we can do to help us achieve a healthy and realistic body image!

Leave a comment